Loss of power/engine RPM's after 20 to 30 minutes.

/ Loss of power/engine RPM's after 20 to 30 minutes. #1  

Tractorrr

Gold Member
Tractor
kubota bx 2370-1
So, I'm just starting out mowing again this year with B2920 and MMM. It now has 250 hours. My first time mowing I did not have any issues. However today the tractor had a loss of RPM's and power after about 30 minutes or so and had some white smoke. I run it at full RPM's (about 3200 or so) while mowing, and it suddenly dropped to 2,000 to 1500. I turned it off and then back on and again it was doing this within 30 seconds or so. The RPM's would drop for a while but then return back up to 3200. After it did this a few times I drove around without the mid PTO engaged and it was still having this issue. For some reason it would do this then seem ok for a little bit and then do it again.

I quit for a while and went to get some new diesel which I added to the tank thinking maybe that was the problem. It was about 30 minutes before I started back mowing and this time the problem didn't start up for 20 minutes or so. Possibly once the fluids or fuel heat up could be a factor in what is going on?

I have checked the oil and HST fluid which are at normal levels. The air filter looked ok. The fuel filter looked ok to me, but I am not close to being a mechanic. Could a clogged fuel filter be causing stuff like this? Regular maintenance has been done up to this point. Any advice or tips on what I could do to solve this issue would be greatly appreciated.

/ Loss of power/engine RPM's after 20 to 30 minutes. #2  
A clogged or partially clogged fuel filter could cause your problem.
At 250 hours has the filter been changed yet.
3200 RPM seems a little high. Isn't your PTO speed about 2600 or is 3200 normal for that tractor.

/ Loss of power/engine RPM's after 20 to 30 minutes.