Trailer hubs shedding grease caps

/ Trailer hubs shedding grease caps #41  
They can vary by brand/application/capacity.

1715161323143.png
1715161482155.png

/ Trailer hubs shedding grease caps #42  
Yeah I kind of ignored the suggestion as there is no cotter pin and I did not want to call it out so I just said nothing.
To the best of my knowledge EZ lubes never have cotter pins, maybe some do but not to my knowledge as the cotter pin would go right through the grease channel and block it so they use either a tang washer (not a fan of) or a special spindle nut retainer (which is really kind of cool device).

The EZ Lubes on my Sure-Trac with Dexter axles use an offset drilled cotter pin. So the grease goes through the center but the cotter pin is off to the side of the passage.

/ Trailer hubs shedding grease caps #43  
I agree with WinterDeere. "DIY mods or hacks of a well-engineered system are rarely if ever an improvement"

I don't own a trailer, so I have no experience with these hubs. That being said, here's a story.

I used to run rotary presses where I worked many years ago. Being mechanically inclined, I took to it quite well. I came in one morning to relive the midnight crew. I noticed one of the presses had cardboard duct taped all over it. I asked the midnight guy, what's up with that machine? He says, she's acting up, but I fixed her. He said parts were flying off the table and not going down the shoot. The cardboard catches the parts and directs them into the hopper.

Knowing he was a few IQ points above a salamander, I hit the stop button and ripped off all of his artwork. You should have seen his face. :eek: He said I would be sorry I did that. I smiled and said, go get some sleep.