Buying a new UTV/RTV

/ Buying a new UTV/RTV #1  

kubes14060

Tractor
John Deere
I know a lot of this information has been talked about here before but I have a question maybe someone can help me with:

I am new to this process of buying a UTV/RTV. I'm looking at the midsize types, like the Gator 550, Ranger 500, Kubota RTV 500/400.

Here are my questions:

I like John Deere products, but the new Gator 550 is not EFI. Is that something to be concerned about?? The Gator salesman says its not a big deal and the other salesman say it is a big deal (of course they will stay loyal to their products!

Also, the Gator and Kubota have an advertised 16 hp and the Ranger has an advertised 28 hp, but they are all around 500 cc engines? How can there be almost twice as much hp in a Ranger?

Also, how much hp is enough to do simple chores around a camp on the weekends??

Thanks for anyones input!!!!

/ Buying a new UTV/RTV #2  
The only thing I can comment on is the EFI. I would spend the extra money for the EFI. Having had ATV's with carbs for many years makes me appreciate the EFI on my Polaris Sportsman.

/ Buying a new UTV/RTV #4  
I've got an '06 Yamaha Rhino 450 that is carbed. Never had an issue except for a dirt dobber making a nest in some tube. That said, only thing I run in it is ethanol-free fuel.

/ Buying a new UTV/RTV #5  
Amen on the ethanol free fuel, I don't use it in any of my smaller motors either. I had a kawasaki 610 mule with the carb. and it worked fine for me, always had to choke it a little to get it running but after that it was pretty fool proof, ran really cheap on fuel too. Now I have a kubota 900xt which is a completely different animal.

/ Buying a new UTV/RTV #6