Compact Tractor 101 - Help Please

/ Compact Tractor 101 - Help Please #1  

TractorMBA

Hello everyone,

I'm a 24 year old graduate student in Texas and I'm currently working on marketing research project (paper) in regard to small tractors. I was originally trying to write a paper about automobile industry; however, the professor said it would be too easy...so somehow "we" compromised on the small tractor sector as a topic for my research. Don't get me wrong I have nothing against compact tractors but "I'm Tractor Dumb". In order to be able to come up with a really good paper I need to talk to you guys - the target market for small tractors - and hear your opinions about the tractor market.

I was wandering if some of you could answer me the following question:

Based on your opinion, what is the key indicator when purchasing compact
(20 - 180hp) tractor?

Would that be
1) Price / Value Proposition
2) Country of Origin
3) Ease of Operation
4) Dealer Location / Service / Aftermarket Parts Availability
5) Warranty & Reliability

Thank you guys for reading this and any feedback that you provide me with will be greatly appreciated! I certainly hope this is the right section to post this in....:)

EDIT: The use of a tractor is not specified. It can be smaller unit used for garden / yard work, or larger tractor for commercial / agriculture work (up to 180hp).

Last edited:
   / Compact Tractor 101 - Help Please #2  
Many factors go into the compact tractor buying decision. I think that most prospective buyers spend more time researching a tractor purchase than an automobile purchase. My $0.02 follows:

Key indicators (in order of importance) after selecting the type of compact tractor and it's configuration are.

1 - Repair and servicing support.
2 - Reliability in the long term. Warranties only cover a couple of years and we expect our tractors to work problem-free for many years.
3 - Price.