Chinese yes or Chinese no way??

/ Chinese yes or Chinese no way?? #1  

shamban

Tractor
shopping
I recently posted the question "what tractor should I buy" and I was blown away by the response. I even brought my wife in to show her how many people offered such great advise.

I was surprised that I received a few "private" messages from folks bragging up some low cost Chinese tractors. I wondered why these people would not post in the thread. I figured they are either A. Salespeople who would be recognized as phony 'owner operators" or B. afraid to make a pubic recommendation in fear of ridicule. Which brings me to my question...

Are brands like Farm Pro, at half the price of the big 3, really junk? Is anyone aware of any side-by-side testing done by a an unbiast source?

I struggle with the idea of buying this versus an American brand. But I also work in the hydraulics industry as a manufacturer of seals and I know what it's like internally at places like JD. They want US to buy American but they will buy from China in a heartbeat. I often feel I would be more patriotic to buy a Chinese tractor and donate the cost difference to an American charity...anway..I digress...

I appreciate your thoughts and opinions on this subject. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Joey

/ Chinese yes or Chinese no way?? #2  
Not having any personal experience with Chinese tractors, I can't speak to their reliability, but...

I'm afraid that when it comes to compact tractors, there are very few, if any, american made units. Some have a certain amount of domestic parts, I think the Cub Cadet Sub-compacts have alot of U.S. made components, and Power-Trac's are largely made in the U.S.
Most are manufactured in either Japan or Korea.

/ Chinese yes or Chinese no way?? #3