stale diesel

/ stale diesel #1  

garydc

Silver Member
Tractor
Kioti ck20
Gas seem's to go stale in about 3 month's nowadays, does anyone know how long before diesel goes stale if it does. I just have a 45 gal barrel for my tractor and I use it fairly quick, when I used to have a truck I had a 1000 gal tank in the ground but that would last only about 1 1/2 week so long term sitting of my diesel fuel was never an issue, but I was thinking about a 250 or 500 gal tank and filling when the price was semi reasonable and saving a little cash over the season, but wondered how long it last's if it sits for awhile say I filled in September and had a half a tank or so left come spring? Gary

/ stale diesel #2  
I have a 300 gallon diesel tank. I fill it about once per year. I add Power Service and a Biocide when I fill it. I run a 2 micron filter at the pump. I have been doing this for 25 years with no problems. I do not get bio diesel. That may be different. I'm on my 2nd tank, the first one lasted about 20 years.

/ stale diesel #3  
If you can get real regular gas it will last longer. We bring in about 450 gallons every fall to last a year, no problems with it, I do add some seafoam and isoheat to get it though the winter.

The Diesel tank I bring in enough #1 in the fall to get a 60/40 mix or better. I also add PS white bottle. I've got about 100 gal of winter diesel left, I just ordered in 120 gal to top off the house with PS in it, I'll add 130 gal to my tractor tank with white bottle PS.

I use a water separator filters with a clear bowls on both tanks, have never had water problems or fuel problems at all.

/ stale diesel #4  
1* does anyone know how long before diesel goes stale if it does.
2*I just have a 45 gal barrel for my tractor and I use it fairly quick,
3*when I used to have a truck I had a 1000 gal tank in the ground but that would last only about 1 1/2 week.