Orange or Green

/ Orange or Green #1  

usmcshepherd

All,

I am new to the TBN site but have found numerous articles that have been assisting me to this point in deciding on a new lawn tractor but I remain undecided. I have a couple of issues I need to point out:

1. I'm an active duty US Marine who moves around but am close to retirement (I'm at 20yrs in the Corps and will retire at 20yrs), so I still have a move or two left prior to settling down on our farm in IL. We currently have about an acre to mow.
2. Our farm lawn mowing tractor is in need of replacing so whatever I get I want to be able to handle the mowing at our farm (160acres / 3.5 acres mowing)when I return there in a couple years.

I've pretty much narrowed it down to either a Kubota or JD. One option I'm considering is getting a smaller lawn tractor just for mowing and then buying a larger tractor when we return to the farm that will handle bush hog, FEL, post hole digging, snow etc.

So my question is should I just go with a T series Kubota or X300 JD or perhaps something a little larger like the GR 2110 or X540? I lean towards the GR 2110 with its shaft drive and glide steer which would be nice while I'm still mowing smaller yards until I retire. On the other hand JD has dealers that are closer to the bases as well as our farm (Kubota dealers are within an hours drive at most). Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
USMCShepherd

/ Orange or Green #2  
Welcome to TBN and thank you for your service. :)

Since you have couple more years before your last wake,maybe when until than before deciding,for it seems each year or so tractor lines offers new ideas etc. which makes life a tad easier.

/ Orange or Green #3