Farmer Electrocuted By Faulty Welding Cable

/ Farmer Electrocuted By Faulty Welding Cable #11  
alternating current... deadly.

Then what is direct current?

I was an electronics tech on a diesel electric U-boat. We were always told that DC will kill you faster than AC.

/ Farmer Electrocuted By Faulty Welding Cable #12  
Skyco, did not mean it that way..How could anyone weld very long without a pair of gloves? Begging for trouble..but they do serve as insulators for the electrode holder...DC current is also deadly, under the same aspects..

/ Farmer Electrocuted By Faulty Welding Cable
I've been nailed hard before by welding current many times. I think the worst was when I was welding the inside of an aluminum tanker. I touched the tungsten of my TIG torch to the filler rod. I was laying on bare metal and was sweating very heavily. I woke up in the Foremans office about an hour later they say and I had a heavy metallic taste in my mouth for about three days. I consider myself very lucky taking into account stories like the one this thread is about.

WOW...scarey story, Tobias. Sounds like you had a very close call.
Good thing someone was around to shut things off and get you out of there.

As they say, hindsite is 20-20. But what would you do differently now if you had to return to that same situation? Refuse to do the job or put down an insulated mat, or something else?

Jonyyuma,
I see that you live north of Memphis, and might know the answer to something I've been wondering about for several years.

I went on vacation with my parents in your neck of the woods back in the late '60s. We went to Reelfoot lake and took the highway west to Missouri, crossing the Mississippi on a ferry that took highway traffic back and forth between Tennessee and Missouri.
I don't remember the number of the highway, but seems like it connected Portageville, MO with Tiptonville, TN.

That ferry was one the highlights of our trip.