Building my bridge crane

/ Building my bridge crane
I am no pro at any of this. But I am not concerned.

I will rate the W18x60 beam over the 37' span for 5k max load.

That is WELL under the failure point of the beam. I assigned this value based on many many crane beam span tables I have looked at.

Assuming 36ksi yeild steel (A36) which is the weakest beam because most are actually A992 (50ksi), A 5:1 Safety factor based on stress is 7013lbs.

And the plating is not right in the middle either. The spliced pieces were 13 and 25', so that puts it in a lower stress area.

I figured the plating wasnt even necessary. Everything was beveled all the way through and welded with 100% penetration. I just figured the plating wouldnt hurt and I had the material anyway.

Shieldarc:

The truck beams are 20' long and going to set on columns 15' apart. The columns are W10x33 beams with a 12x12x1/2" plate and (4) 3/4" anchors to the floor. On top is a 8x"x10"x1/2" plate welded. The truck beams are going to sit on top and be welded all the way around.

The truck beams are slightly different sizes. One is a W8x24 and the other is a W8x31. Same height though and both strong enough for the span.

Then there will be knee braces going from the column to the truck beam. Havent decided yet if I will add a few braces to tie into the wall or not. The columns are 10' high and feel pretty darn solid.

/ Building my bridge crane #12  
The engineer who helped me with my bridge crane, said to tie the crane to the building where ever I could. He also kept emphasizing to build a box. He suggested these pipes that go between the crane rails.

Attachments

• Connection.jpg
    Connection.jpg
    40.1 KB · Views: 572
  • Cross pipe.jpg
    Cross pipe.jpg
    43.3 KB · Views: 701
Got the rails just sitting atop the columns now. I think I will tie it into the building. 10'+ leverage on the anchors in the floor....