looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations?

/ looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations? #21  
Re: looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations?

As a chemical engineer I am going to disagree with this.

Any gasoline will eventually produce gum and "varnish" because some of the components can polymerize. As it comes to the station, gasoline is blended with enough stabilizer to prevent this polymerization for about 3 months. Adding stabilizer increases this time to about a year, and double or triple doses will prevent it for longer.

No stabilizer will allow gasoline to be stored indefinitely.

The addition of ethanol is for a totally different purpose, and does not really effect gum and varnish formation. Alcohol is hard on small engines because it can attack fuel system components, especially on older systems.

For small engines, I use non-ethanol premium gas with a triple dose of Sta-Bil. I have never had a small engine (generator, saw, Kombi powerhead) fail to start even after sitting for a year or longer with this fuel. I usually go through the fuel in about a year. I keep 15 or 20 gallons on hand and try to buy in the winter since a winter blend will start more easily in cold weather. If non-ethanol gas is not available, ordinary premium will also work in newer small engines.

Other people I know who use ordinary regular in their small engines usually need to have the carburetors serviced at least once a year.

The red colored line in your statement seems to contradict the rest of what you said?
I use non-E gas, and mix it to the recommended ratio, and have had no problems with my saws, weed eaters, etc.

/ looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations? #22  
Re: looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations?

The red colored line in your statement seems to contradict the rest of what you said?