L6060 Cab Questions

/ L6060 Cab Questions #1  

bdhsfz6

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5800 HST & L6060 HSTC Formerly L6060 HST B7100 HST, L2550, L3010 HST, L3430 HST
I'm in the process of trading my 2018 L6060 open station tractor for an L6060 with cab. I'm not getting any younger and the hours of plowing & cindering my 1.25 mile private road in single digit temps is really grating on me. To ease my aching bones, lately, I've been opting to use my pickup with plow for some of the winter road maintenance but it's taking a toll on the truck. It's also awkward to maneuver and I can't pile up the snow banks like I can with the snow blade on the tractor.

Although this will be my 7th Kubota tractor since 1980, it is the first one with a cab. Sorry if my questions sound like those of a noob but I have no experience operating a cabbed tractor. When asked, the standard answer from the salesman is "no problem". I'd much rather hear from those with practical experience.

1 - It's difficult to judge while sitting in the L6060 cab on the showroom floor but it appears there could be visibility issues when operating the FEL at full height. I'm 6' - 3" and wondering if this is this going to be a problem. Am I going to have to unbuckle the seat belt and lean forward to see what I'm doing?

2 - Is the radio option worth getting? It seems to me it would be difficult to hear unless the cab is very quiet inside.

3 - I've heard complaints about the interior glass of the cab fogging up. Are the side and rear window defogger options necessary and how well do they work?

4 - Heat and A/C are standard cab equipment on the L6060. Is the heater adequate in near zero temps or am I going to have to continue wearing my Carharts? I mow 7 acres in 90 degree Summer temps. With all the glass, does the A/C provide significant relief from that much heat? Does the compressor cause a noticeable loss of engine power?