Do you think this device can be useful?

/ Do you think this device can be useful? #1  

unclehan

Hi, awhile back I asked some questions on tractor transmissions. I'm an engineer with no hands on experience with tractors. With the fuel prices booming, I want to devise a type of transmission that can help farmers save fuel.

Here's a device I came up with and I wonder if it can be beneficial to the efficiency and performance of ANY tractor of machine.

It's a transmission with an efficiency of around 98%, similar to a regular chain drive.

Purely mechanical with no hydraulics or electric

Very reliable and can handle any torque. Light, and compact.

It's essentially like a manual geared transmission EXCEPT it can offer an INFINITE number of gear ratio to choose from (within a given range). Now, this is not like your regular hydrostatic transmission where the thing can shift smoothly. It CANNOT shift smooth, it requires a clutch, just like a geared transmission. But it can offer an infinite number of gear ratio to choose from, unlike a regular geared transmission.

I think it might be useful on certain machines where there are many long, constant operations with no many gear change, but a PERFECT gear ratio can be benficial.

It's not quite as convenient as a hydro, but it's far more efficient. And it offer more flexibility than a regular gearbox. A computer can determine the load, speed, ect for a task and choose the PERFECT gear ratio. And let's say this task will last for an hour, I think it can be benefical on a fuel saving stand point.

But I'm not a farmer so I would appreciate you guys' opinions. Thanks.

/ Do you think this device can be useful? #2  
Well, if you can do it, it sounds just fine.
I have no idea how you will accomplish it, but saving fuel, and having a great range of gears sounds like a winner.
It also sounds as though it would not lose much HP to the wheels as in the HST transmission that gives up some HP.
John