Mowing 3320

/ 3320 #1  

MikeF

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 3039R cab
Hello all,

I am looking for some advice from some 3 series owners with MMM on their tractors. I'm looking at getting a 3320 for multiple tasks that my 5083 is way to big for. I am also looking to mow my very open lawn approx 2 ac with it. I'm looking at both 60 & 72" 7 iron mm mowers. I see that some say the newer ones are better, ie better caster wheels better cut etc.....

All input appreciated

Mike

/ 3320 #2  
I've been using a 3320 (first O/S - now CAB) since 2008 for approx 2 acre mow with 72" 7-Iron MMM. Turf tires. The lawn is not perfect nor is it totally flat, probably a bit worse from some minor soil compaction. My castor wheels are adjusted for height so most of the time they do not touch the ground. If the ground is uneven, the 72" MMM may have a tendency to scalp a bit more than the 60". I have some areas not compatible with a 3320 so also have a JD X739 with 60" MMM. The cut might initially be slightly better with the X739, but a day after I can't see any difference worth mentioning.

If I use the 3320, then I have to complete the job using the X739, so in reality I don't find much time difference compared to only using the X739 mainly because if maneuvers better around obstacles and everything gets done all at once. Biggest disadvantage is no air conditioning on 739 vs CAB. The castor wheels on the 739 deck do not swivel, so sometimes on a tight turn they can gouge on uneven ground.

A lot of people say the 3320 is "feels tippy" and many set the wheels to "wide" setting which is about 58" - 59" depending on tires and accuracy of measurement. A 60" deck on a 3320 won't really give you any reach or overhang outside the tires and at the end of the day, I suspect you would not be happy with that choice.

/ 3320 #3  
Hiya,