580C vs 680H

/ 580C vs 680H #1  

n175h

Hi folks,

I'm a newbie and looking for a hoe. From reading the forums I like Case the best. I found a 1981 680H with a 20k trailer included for $12k. I couldn't find much anything about the 680 series. The 580 is the most popular series and for the same vintage is close if not higher in price.

Anyone have any opininon on the 680? It must have a lot more grunt than the 580 because it weighs about 3000lbs more.

Thanks for the help.

David

/ 580C vs 680H #2  
The 680 is a monster, reminds me of an old Dynahoe. It is burly but I prefer a 580 series (E or up).

I had a 580K 4x4. We bought it used with 2600 and sold it with 5K or so 5 years later. I still miss that machine.

If you will be digging get one with an extendahoe. Case does have a pretty crazy stick setup for the hoe-4 center sticks 3 smaller on the outside for the extendahoe and stabilizers and foot pedals for swinging the boom. I could get on a Case 10 years later and dig a decent hole but I have never been able to "get" the standard 2 stick hoe configuration after operating a Case so beware!

/ 580C vs 680H #3  
Never been around a 680 just 580's . Just keep in mind a 680 being that much bigger (3000lbs) manuverability in soft ground and tight places will be more of a pita at times. Also I don't think an extendahoe is a necessity for digging . Just my opinion.

/ 580C vs 680H #4  
Back in the 70's, I worked for a company that had four 580's and one 780. It was a monster. Everything was oversize and I'd bet the parts were scarcer and more expensive than the 580. It worked just as hard as the 580's

/ 580C vs 680H #5