990 to sqaure bale hay?

/ 990 to sqaure bale hay? #1  

jwcinpk

Veteran Member
Tractor
2009 Mahindra 3316 HST-2008 Mahindra 7010 cab - 2004 Mahindra 6000 4X4
Ive been shopping for tractors for a few months now and this is the first look I've taken at the green machines. I was swayed by the addage that they were too expensive. Then I stumbled across the web site and saw a 990 is priced at $15449. So I'm here to ask you all will it fill my needs. I would be doing general farm work and sqaure baling a few thousand bales of grass hay a year. Just the baler no hay wagon. Eventually I want to round roll, but don't think I can afford to buy that big right now. This unit will have to have a FEL and a tiller also. Feel free to make suggestions. I've looked real hard at Kiotis and Mahindras, but why buy one of them if they are just as expensive. I'm sure the parts supply is better with these "expensive green tractors".

/ 990 to sqaure bale hay? #2  
I am sure you will get some real expert answers (Cowboydoc, Rich Z, Bird, speak up) from those who bale or have baled much more hay than I have, but I'll risk the thought that a 990 would be a bit on the light side. I have baled hay with a JD 2510 tractor before, pulling a wagon, and it was quite a load for that tractor (I am guessing it had 50-60 hp and weighed about 5000 lbs.)
I am anxious to hear what our farming gurus have to say /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Will

/ 990 to sqaure bale hay? #3  
I have a JD 990,,,, others here have said that it may be to light for a full size baler , ..I will say I do not have any haying experience, I think it maybe it will handle one of them mini square balers, but in MHO, I would get something abit bigger,,
Bill G.

/ 990 to sqaure bale hay? #4  
We used to use our 1070 to bail hay using a John Deere 328 square baler. Worked fine but the 5320 ran it better. The 1070 is identical to a 990 so it may work for your application. A bigger tractor wouldn't hurt if you can afford it.

Nick