Comparison Another "which one?" thread: Mahindra 1538 or John Deere 3036E (in Australia)

/ Another "which one?" thread: Mahindra 1538 or John Deere 3036E (in Australia) #1  

Bart Mancuso

Tractor
Mahindra eMax 25 HST + various attachments
Another "which one?" thread: Mahindra 1538 or John Deere 3036E (in Australia)

So, I'm back at looking for my first tractor (started last year and got distracted...or is that distractored??).

Anyway, I seem to have narrowed it down to a Mahindra 1538 or a JD 3036E...based on looking for something around 30-40Hp for general landscaping, farm maintenance, etc. Can't afford (and probably don't need) anything bigger, but don't want a smaller one that will be underpowered. Learned to avoid the cheap Chinese ones (probably OK, but I'm not a mechanical whizz so warranty/service/dealer support is important).

Interested in opinions...often the consensus seems to be "JD all the way" on some forums, but then others side with Mahindra as they outperform JD for the price. The mahindra is (I understand) powered by a Japanese-built engine (Mitsubishi?) whereas the JD is Chinese-built Yanmar.

So, my dilemma:
- Essentially, with a few add-ons I want like 4-in-1 FEL, backhoe, post-hole digger, box grader and stick rake, they come out within $1,000 of each other.
- Both have good warranties for 2000 hours (M = 3 yrs, JD = 5 or 6 yrs on powertrain also).
- Both dealers are good and similar distance to me. JD is dedicated, M isn't but he's the region's rep and would do on-site if needed. Free delivery on the 1538 too. Mahindra rep seems good, but also a bit of a used-care salesman type, but has a good reputation.
- 36 vs 38 HP, not sure I'd notice the difference honestly. PTO and some other specs seem to even it out
- Mahindra is a bit bigger and heavier
- Both HST and 4wd

So, anyone else looked at these or have opinions given the overall price, specs and support seem close?? :confused: