Any fruit tree experts out there?

/ Any fruit tree experts out there? #1  

zing

Platinum Member
Tractor
Case IH 1390
I have lost some trees for various reasons and they seem to be regrowing shoots from the roots, so I am wondering about the best way to get them to regrow. This is a cottage/hobby farm property so I have no real knowledge of fruit trees, but I do like having the orchard and would like to at least replace what I have lost. I realize it will take some time but I have more time than money so...

First tree is a pear tree that I planted about 5-6 years ago and was about 12 feet tall until a porcupine found it and stripped off all of the bark and killed it. A couple weeks later I noticed some shoots coming up from the roots. I put a little bit of plastic lattice around them to protect them a bit and see if they will come back up to replace the tree.I am unsure if I should:
- be leaving them to grow up as a bunch of shoots
- tie at least some of them together so they can grow together and become a larger tree made of several shoots (like the second apple tree in the pics at the bottom)
- cut away most of the shoots and let it grow as a single trunk.
IMG-20140720-00124Medium_zpsfb68ea98.jpg

IMG-20140720-00126Medium_zps61b6da9d.jpg

Second and third trees are a couple of apple trees that came down in hurricane Arthur a few weeks ago. Picture below shows the tree on the left when it came down but not long after that I lost most of the tree on the right too. Both were very old and mostly hollow trunks so no big surprise they came down, but I would like to replace them with producing apple trees.
IMG-20140705-01881Medium_zps57f3d692.jpg

The one on the left was a single trunk, but there are some shoots at the bottom that might be able to replace it.
IMG-20140720-00128Medium_zps31c2a4db.jpg