Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil

/ Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil #1  

pk1mk1

I have a new --24 hours-- 48" befco rotary cutter. It is leaking oil and making a clunking noise. It worked ok yesterday so I assume I hit something or did something wrong. It cuts but it seemed like a bad idea to use it. I am very new at this. Any suggestions?

/ Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil #2  
pk1mk1 said:
I have a new --24 hours-- 48" befco rotary cutter. It is leaking oil and making a clunking noise. It worked ok yesterday so I assume I hit something or did something wrong. It cuts but it seemed like a bad idea to use it. I am very new at this. Any suggestions?

Don't assume you hit anything unless you hit something. Power wash (gently) and look for leak, loose bolt, cracked case, etc.
Bob

/ Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil
Thanks. I'll try that tomorrow.

/ Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil #4  
pk1mk1 said:

Have you looked under it?

/ Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil #5  
pk1mk1 said:

If it's new call the dealer where you purchased the cutter. Make your problem his problem and he'll most likely make the repair.

I looked underneath. Seems ok. Oil leaks when it is at lowest position. Are you supposed to park it so that it is level? I really know nothing but I can't find anyting in the manual about it except it makes that noise when it is low on oil.

/ Befco Rotary Cutter-leaking oil #7  
pk1mk1 said:
I looked underneath. Seems ok. Oil leaks when it is at lowest position. Are you supposed to park it so that it is level? I really know nothing but I can't find anyting in the manual about it except it makes that noise when it is low on oil.

Where actually is the oil leaking from? and i don;t see why it would leak more in the low position or did i miss something? as Mike said CALL THE DEALER