Grading BX-1500 w/72 inch Rear Blade

/ BX-1500 w/72 inch Rear Blade #1  

MIKE_E

Tractor
B2601
Hello Everyone,
I'm new to compact tractors and accesories so bear with me. I just took delivery of a new BX-1500 with a FEL and a temporary used 60 inch rear blade(until the new 72 inch Land Pride arrives). My question: is the 72 inch blade overkill for this tractor? I will be using it to plow snow in the winter and keep the 1200 ft gravel driveway in check in the summer. I live in So. Wisconsin and the snow falls have been not much to speak of lately. The dealer told me it should work fine and would cover the wheels when turned at even 45 degrees.
I've seen some posts with problems plowing with a rear blades on larger tractors. Would a 60 inch be a wiser investment. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

TIA
Mike

/ BX-1500 w/72 inch Rear Blade #2  
Hi Mike, Welcome to TBN. How deep is your average snow? I think that anything more than say 6" the 72" is going to want more steam than the BX1500 can muster. I have a 60" blade on a BX1800, and it will want to stall or spin given a good loading. There are many members here that have a BX1500 that may be able to give you a better idea of its capabilities.

Doug

/ BX-1500 w/72 inch Rear Blade #3  
Mike . Welcome to TBN ! Just in my own opinion ,a 72 inch blade might be a bit much for a bx1500. If you are just going to use it for snow removal it might well work . But I'd suggest chains on the tires as well . Without them You'll find the rear blade can act like a rudder on a ship in certain situations .
I think overall the 60" blade would be a better match for your machine . But if you go with the 72" blade ... you can always turn the blade backwards to plow . It might take an additional pass ,but it get's the job done . John

/ BX-1500 w/72 inch Rear Blade #4