Bx 2230 Post hole digger

/ Bx 2230 Post hole digger #1  

astor

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota Bx2230
Guys,

I just bought 50 posts to redo my front fence line. Rather than dig these by hand I thought I would borrow a friends cat 1 post hole digger and try it on my BX. I have no experience with a post hole digger but from what I read my BX will take a full size digger for a cat 1 set up. Is this correct? Do I have to watch out for certain brands of post hole diggers that will not work on the back of my bx 2230?

Any helpful comments would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

/ Bx 2230 Post hole digger #2  
It's my understanding that the BX2230 will take a Cat. 1 Auger head, but the auger bits have to be shorter to accomodate the limited lift height of the BX. I've been told the BX actually has a Limited Cat. 1 3ph. That was confirmed for me when I borrowed a rototiller from a friend and wasn't able to lift it high enough to get it off the ground.

Greg

/ Bx 2230 Post hole digger
Greg,

Thanks for the response. I thought I read that the Bx1500 had the limited cat 1 but the 2230 did not. Maybe that is wrong information. I am going to have to drop my tractor off at the job site first and than go and get the post hole digger, so I sure would want to know if its going to work before I waste my time picking it up and trying to fit it on the back of my tractor. I will have to do some more checking.

Steve

/ Bx 2230 Post hole digger #4  
This is an issue I have followed for nearly 8 years. I have a BX2200 and a Greene PHD and auger from Horthern Tool. The PHD is full sized. To get the U-Bar on, the 3ph must be at mid height and absolute max spread. You have to slip one pin in one side at a slight angle, then come back and do the other pin on the other side. It fits barely. Then you put the rest of the auger on. At full lift, my 42" auger has 6" of clearance on the ground.