Cabin Heat Question

/ Cabin Heat Question #1  

RotorWrench

Tractor
Holder C5000 Toolcat 5600
Hello all. New to the forum but prior lurker. I appreciate the accumulated experience and knowledge here and have used it for many questions.

I will hopefully be getting a new-to-me 2013 5600 within the next week or so, depending on the current owner's schedule.

I have some experience with the Toolcat due to using one for miscellaneous chores at our hangars but predominantly in warmer weather.

My question pertains to the cabin heat, specifically, the effectiveness of the defroster or the ability of the cabin heat to keep the windshield clear of ice/freezing blowing snow in - 20F to - 30+ F temps. The primary use of this Toolcat will be replacing a Holder C5000 for snow removal, usually pre-dawn or at night and by December many times under the conditions previously mentioned.

My current Holder doesn't have any problems with this, in fact I often have to crack the side windows but I have used a couple of tractors whose cabin heat could not keep up with it, the snow hitting the moderately warm glass, melting and immediately freezing, eventually overcoming the wiper's ability to clear it. Very common around here but a royal pain. In those cases I was better off with the cabin unheated.

I would appreciate information on this so I'll at least be prepared to use my workarounds if I have to deal with it. We already had another foot of snow a couple of days ago with winds and single digits. I'll probably be dealing with that issue as soon as I get it.

Thanks

/ Cabin Heat Question #2