Can you get scamed using paypal?

/ Can you get scamed using paypal? #1  

kthompson

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubotas B2710, M6800, L6060 cab, Volvo EC excavator, 2 ZTRs and various implements.
Have some JD planters for sale on Craigslist and had person first text me and but asked could we communicate via email which was fine. He ask a few simple questions on the planters and is wanting to buy them using paypal. I have no experience with paypal but the sale seems odd. He wants to buy them as surprise for his son who does some farming. His son is 350 miles from me. He seems to have no concern about shipping as his mover will pick up the planters and get bill of sale and inspect the planters. I have been told I would be safe with paypal but I have no idea if fact or fiction.

Unless he really knows planters he sure failed to ask questions I would have or maybe he knows nothing meaning he does not know what to ask. My concern is can you get scammed using paypal?

/ Can you get scamed using paypal? #2  
I know as a buyer you are safe but your opening line looks familiar, we sell horses from time to time and one came in 'I saw your ad and I am willing to pay what you ask, I am at sea at the moment but can arrange a truck to pick up when transaction is complete etc etc etc'.
As a seller I am not sure where you stand but that message is ringing alarm bells for me, I could be wrong but.......

/ Can you get scamed using paypal? #3  
Do a google search of "craigslist scams + shippers". I'd probably pass on this unless you haven't had any local interest, then possibly proceed with extreme caution.

/ Can you get scamed using paypal? #4  
yes you can. steer clear. Paypal will allow a return up to 180 days now and take the money from your acct. You know the saying. If it sounds.... Run

/ Can you get scamed using paypal? #6