Comparing air powered grease gun types

/ Comparing air powered grease gun types #1  

MoreCowbell

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota BX2350
For a while I've been wanting to get an air powered grease gun. I'm wondering which type is more practical: single shot or continuous flow. Although the single shot requires repeated trigger pulls, does it have the benefit of being able to better gauge how much grease you are pumping? Also, is it more reliable than the continuous flow? I'm tempted to think that the single shot has to be simpler in design and perhaps more reliable (single piston vs. rotating pump impeller maybe?)

Next week Sears is having a sale on their continuous flow model (Craftsman Club discount) which brings it down to the price of their single shot model so I figure now is a good time to pull the trigger (pun intended) :D. I've never used an air powered gun before so any input is welcome. Thanks!

/ Comparing air powered grease gun types #2  
can we toss in the cordless versions also?

been an item on my want to buy list for a while .... just never gotten around to it.

any HF users out there want to weigh in?

/ Comparing air powered grease gun types #3  
I just purched the new Milwaukee 12vt grease gun at empire farm days. see link ://www.milwaukeetool.com/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductId=2446-21XC&CategoryName=SC%3a+M12+Cordless+System

I am very impressed with how this gun works. It primes very easy which has been my problem with air guns. It has great pressure and works very well at filling tough fittings. It was recommended by two vender that sell this gun as well as Lincoln and Alemite痴

If you search the internet you will see the can get a free extra battery. It comes with a 5 year warrantee which is hard to beat. It makes at times a not fun job fun. Thanks John

/ Comparing air powered grease gun types #4  
I have an older air-powered single shot - think it's a Coleman brand ...

Works fine .... provided I keep it loaded with grease ...