Considering a hoe, very slow hydraulics

/ Considering a hoe, very slow hydraulics #1  

fatjay

Veteran Member
Tractor
Not enough
I'm looking at an older hoe. It starts and runs great, but the rear hoe is extremely slow. The guy says it's due to being low on fluid. The front went up just fine. I'm a novice when it comes to hydraulics, I'm wondering if it might be the pump, as that can get spendy.

Front bucket went up fine, lowered stabalizers, a bit slow. Put the hoe out, swung left to right. Left was quick and normal, but right was extremely slow. It's foot opperated and the linkage looks bent, so I thinkt hat might be the issue there. Backhoe went out, down, but wouldn't come back up. I thought, with the front and rear cylinders extended, maybe the fluid was just low. Rear stabalizers lifted the rear up just fine, albiet a bit slow.

/ Considering a hoe, very slow hydraulics #2  
Bring the fluid to where it should be and report back.

You should have the same GPM flow through all valves.

Where is the BH OUT port connected?

Are you feeding the BH from a valve work ports or a PB line?

/ Considering a hoe, very slow hydraulics
Honestly I'm not sure. I'm considering buying it and the seller doesn't know much about it.

The in and out of the valves look like they were replaced in the past few years.

It's a '58 model, but assuming it works as it should, would be suitable for what I need to do.

RF1visu.jpg

IU7dYnU.jpg

/ Considering a hoe, very slow hydraulics #4  
Is the BH driven off the tractor hyd or another hyd pump?

Check out the color and smell of the fluid.

You should probably get a manual for the machine.

You should put some hyd gauges on it and look at some pressures, or take someone that is knowledgeable on tractor hyd.

I don't believe I would take his word for anything if he has not been using it for a while.

Some of those hyd parts are not cheap.