Contemplating Career Change - small business networking questions

/ Contemplating Career Change - small business networking questions #1  

hazmat

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L5460HSTC
Since we don't have a business forum yet (hint hint) I'll put this here.

I'm currently employed as an engineer at a large company. I'm having a bit of an early mid-life crisis. I don't enjoy my work. I'm on my second "career" in the company currently working as a six sigma / lean blackbelt in supply chain. formerly worked in engineering design. I worked for a smaller company just out of college & didn't enjoy that all that much either (though it was better than the large company).

Anyway - I'm seriously considering starting a handyman / home improvement / eventual General Contractor business this January. I'm an accomplished amature carpenter / all around handyman and often get requests from friends to help them out. I really enjoy the work, and think I would be successfull at it.

I'm putting together a business plan now. Loosely the plan is to start with smaller projects and progress to remodels and perhaps new construction as experience, demand & appropriate liscense requirements permit.

As part of my planning - I'm doing a bit of networking. I'm putting together a list of questions for my mentors. Looking for a little help. So far the list is 3 pages long, which I suppose is too much. What 1 or few questions would you ask someone if you were considering going into business?

Thanks in advance for the help.

My top 5 would be:

What is your best success?
Worst Failure?
Are you meeting your financial goals?
Does your family support the business?
What would you do different?

Attachments

• questions.pdf
    58.7 KB · Views: 227
   / Contemplating Career Change - small business networking questions #2