Cordless Drills

/ Cordless Drills #1  

RichZ

Veteran Member
White Creek, New York, Washington County, on the V
Tractor
Kubota 4630 with cab and loader
I have no luck with cordless drills. I got my current one, a Hitachi 18 volt, 3/4 drill on sale at Lowes 2 years ago. The batteries don't hold a charge overnight anymore, and haven't for months. But it still worked well, until today, when I grabbed it to repair some metal roofing and the chuck had fallen apart. The interior of the chuck is actually missing, and I have no idea where it is, so it's time for a new cordless drill.

I'm a farmer, and I'm hard on my tools, but this is ridiculois. I've had Dewalt drills where the batteries and chucks didn't last either. So, I figure most drills won't last me for more than 2 years, so I want to get as cheap of a drill that will still be functional. I figure that reconditioned drills are the cheapest. I have a reconditoned Milwaukee Sawzall that I'm very happy with.

Short of Harbor Freight, do you guys have a suggestion for a cheap, but usable cordless drill? I figure that I need at least 18 volts for enough power to do what I usually need to do, such as fixing fencing, barn work, fixing metal roofing, etc.

Thanks for any suggestions!!!

/ Cordless Drills #2  
I've had good luck with Ryobis that I bought from Home Depot. Around this time of year you can get nice package deals on them with extra battery packs, etc.

There was a posting on the shop tips thread suggesting that dead batteries can be juiced back to life with a nudge form a 12v battery charger. Something to consider.

/ Cordless Drills #3  
Rich,
Do you keep the batteries on the charger all the time?
Do you keep them outside where they freeze or bake?

I have some De Walt batteries that are 5 years old and still very healthy considering the age and usage...But I never do either of the things above...

/ Cordless Drills #4