Diesel bogging and stalling

/ Diesel bogging and stalling #1  

davesill

Tractor
New Holland TC30
I've got a New Holland TC30 3-cyl diesel that I bought used a couple years ago. I've never had any problems with it.

I bush hogged 3-4 hours on Saturday without any difficulty. After a couple hours on Sunday it suddenly bogged. I pressed the clutch in and it recovered. A few minutes later it did the same thing. It gradually worsened until it stalled, even with the clutch depressed. It started right up again, though. This continued for while, but it got a little harder to restart every time.

It happened going uphill, downhill, and level.

Any ideas? I'm not a mechanic.

/ Diesel bogging and stalling #2  
Check & replace the fuel filter.
90cummins

/ Diesel bogging and stalling #3  
Fuel flow/starvation

Filter is the first place I would look...

Some of us have had issues with blockages in the tank due to rust, bad fuel or algae...

Also make sure the fuel cap vent is unobstructed if it is vented...

I've dealt with all of the above at one time or another on various vehicles.

/ Diesel bogging and stalling #4  
Could it also be air (filter)? The screens on my tractor can get clogged within just 15 minutes sometimes when mowing in tall weeds (though have not experienced it bogging motor).

/ Diesel bogging and stalling
Filter was my first suspicion. Googling the symptoms turned up possible MAP sensor failure, but I don't even know if the TC30 has one.

Is the sudden onset and gradual worsening typical of a clogged filter? Should be easy and cheap to try, though.

Thanks for the advice!

/ Diesel bogging and stalling
Could it also be air (filter)? The screens on my tractor can get clogged within just 15 minutes sometimes when mowing in tall weeds (though have not experienced it bogging motor).