Oil & Fuel Diesel fuel recommended for JD 3025E tractor

/ Diesel fuel recommended for JD 3025E tractor #1  

Busheadfox

Tractor
None
I'm completely new to any kind of diesel engine requirements. Never owned anything with a diesel engine in it. I was told by a friend that I shouldn't use diesel fuel that is sold in gas stations for cars and trucks. I should only use fuel that is sold for Farm use equipment because it has more lubricants in it design for farm equipment.
So what is everybody using for fuel on these new tractors and where can it usually be purchased from?

/ Diesel fuel recommended for JD 3025E tractor #2  
I get my tractor diesel ( yellow color ) at the local gas station. Its the same diesel i use in my motorhome. Also the school district gets it there for all there diesel buses. Now if you are a farmer or a business and your equipment is for 'off road' use only then they usually buy the Red diesel. You pay less tax on 'off road' diesel...but don't get caught using 'off road' diesel in your 'on road' equipment.

/ Diesel fuel recommended for JD 3025E tractor #3  
All diesel is the same nowadays, so it really doesn't matter what you use. If you can get offroad diesel (+ red dye) then it will save you about 25-30 cents per gallon in Virginia. I normally buy 55 gal at a time and it's worth my while to venture a little farther and get offroad diesel, but if I need some fuel in a hurry I'll just hit the pump at the local gas station and pay more for highway diesel.

No matter where/what you buy, be sure to add some treatment if you will be storing it long term or storing/using over winter. You'll want a biocide to prevent algae growth for long term storage, and you'll want an anti-gel treatment for winter storage or usage. It doesn't get that cold in my part of VA, but ocassionally dips low enough to cause diesel to gel up, so I treat all my fuel as soon as I buy it.

/ Diesel fuel recommended for JD 3025E tractor #4