DIY Granite countertop?

/ DIY Granite countertop? #1  

STx

Veteran Member
Tractor
New Holland TC40 DA, Deere 17D, Hyster SX50 forklift, Case D450, Kubota ZD1011-54, International Dump Truck, Kubota SVL-952S, Volovo EC250DL
I'm going to move the granite with my tractor so it's "technically" a tractor project... ;)

Anybody cut, edged and polished their own granite?* Am I crazy to try?* I've got a lot of experience with tile, wood and metal, it looks like stone takes a little bit from each.

Long story short, we need a countertop for a small vanity.* We've ordered a couple but, they've shown up broken and haven't really been the granite my wife wanted, just something she was ok with.* We've got a scrap piece from when we had the counters done at the last house that's big enough for this job and I'm thinking I'll just do it myself.* I have most of the tools already, just need a couple hundred dollars worth of additional stuff but, the countertops we were buying are $190 so, it's really money ahead in the long run if I can do it since we still have another bathroom and a kitchen to do.

What am I missing?

/ DIY Granite countertop? #2  
Have you ever gotten a quote for someone to do it for you with your existing piece of granite?

/ DIY Granite countertop? #3  
Go to a granite shop and give them the specs, have them mill it. It takes a lot of polishing with lubricant to set the cuts, let them use their tools and expertise.

/ DIY Granite countertop?
Have you ever gotten a quote for someone to do it for you with your existing piece of granite?
No but honestly, I'd rather do it myself if it's possible. Not only do I save some money, especially when we get to the kitchen, it'll also be pretty satisfying to have done it ourselves. The only things we've hired out so far have been the HVAC and part of the drywall float/tape/texture. The drywall that we've done looks a lot better than what we paid the "pros" for...

/ DIY Granite countertop? #5