Do you use a cutting area for Bucked logs?

/ Do you use a cutting area for Bucked logs? #1  

MossflowerWoods

Tractor
Kioti DK50SE HST w/FEL, Gravely 60" ZTR Mower. Stihl MS290 (selling), CS261, & FS190 + Echo CS400 & 2010 F-350 6.4 PSD snowplow truck
First of all, I'm new to running a chainsaw, i've only run 3 or 4 tanks of gas total, and all but 1 were on my Stihl 20" MS290 FarmBoss I bought in May.

I need to process my fire wood more efficiently. I hate cutting the rounds on the ground, or in a jumble of logs. I am also terrible at cutting when the log gets short, down to the last cut on a big round, or the last couple cuts on asmaller round

Does anyone use any kind of a platform to cut from?

Some guys say they use their bucket or grapple on the tractor, but you should not leave that in the air with the engine turned off, so that made no sense to me.

I could easily make some sort of cradle out of less desirable wood, but is that the right way?

I am clearing the area first, so I will stack up a big pile of bucked logs and I will cut them later when I'm done clearing (if you have any advice on that topic als, thanks).

So what is the secret to efficiently cutting bucked logs into rounds?

Thanks in advance!
David

/ Do you use a cutting area for Bucked logs? #2  
I mostly cut to firewood lengths in the bush and haul them to the shed with the tractor bucket and sometimes a carryall.

The steel log jack from Princess Auto is great for handling fairly large logs.

http://www.princessauto.com/all-seasons/outdoor/logging/tools/8217283-steel-log-jack

I use as much of the tree as I can. When I get to the small end and can lift it I use a Smart Holder. It is much safer than holding small logs with a foot. I got mine at Lee Valley but I think Stihl also sells them. Here is a link showing the Smart Holder:

Bailey's - Smart-Holder Firewood Holder

There are also youtube videos of it.

Another handy tool is a paint spray can holder for marking the logs.