experiences with skid steer mulchers?

/ experiences with skid steer mulchers? #1  

Sono

Silver Member
Tractor
John Deere
Ive operated an older skid steer back in my days ( mustang with T-bar ) havent really used the newer model skid steers since 2004 with joysticks for about a day working with the water dept. My question and concern is... we recently bought 5 acres and moved, I need to clear a large section for a garden ( mostly cedars and overgrowth ) Ive seen the skid steers with the mulchers just plow through and leave a nice clean field but I have no experience with this machine and just wonder how easy or difficult it would be to do myself? In videos, just push the tree over with it and grind it down to nothing.... looks easy enough but my gut says I dunno old man ! I just want to clear it for the garden to have it ready for next season, my neighbor has a tractor and will plow it for me, I just need to figure out how to get it cleared? Ive cut down a bunch of small stuff and had a nice fire going for 3 days to burn the brush and debris but still too much to do by hand ( measured with a wheel and its about 75' X 200' ) plus wanting to clean up along the drives and a few other small areas. Debating renting a machine to try it or just find someone with the equipment and hire for the job? Advice....

/ experiences with skid steer mulchers? #2  
I’ve been working on a job now that was previously mulched. It’s a mess. I wouldn’t recommend it unless you just want to hack it down to continue bush hogging the area. If you have further development in mind I’d recommend getting an excavator and digging and burning the trees.

/ experiences with skid steer mulchers? #3  
A twenty acre parcel was sold two years ago. It's down the road about a mile. They had some type of VERY LARGE hydromulcher clear about eight acres of aspen, popular, quaken asp & birch all mixed together.