Buying Advice First CUT: Sizing and Used Options

/ First CUT: Sizing and Used Options #1  

FreedomFamilyFarms

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710, Toro Z Master Commercial
Hello TBN!

I've been reading a long time and getting close to purchasing my first CUT. I plan to purchase used and would like any advice or strategy for locating the perfect used machine. I'd entertain new as well if the savings on a used machine are negligible.

I am building a home that will be completed in November on 17 1/2 acres. We have a 1000 ft white rock driveway I will maintain with the tractor as well as snow removal in the winter. My home is in the 46706 zip code and we can get up to a foot of snow overnight here (unusual, but possible). 10 acres are wooded and I want to clear a couple trails and maintain them. I also have the ability to heat my home entirely with cord wood so I'll be moving wood around with the tractor.

I plan to keep a small lawn (1 acre or less). I have a Toro Z Master ZTR that my wife likes to use so there's no need for a finish mower on the tractor. However, I plan to flail mow the areas outside of the lawn. The Caroni flail mower discussed on this site seems perfect for my needs.

I split as much wood by hand as I can but some wood is just too unruly for a maul so a 3 point mounted hydraulic splitter is on my wish list. The TSC model (~$700) seems adequate for my needs.

My brother lives 2 counties away and I'd like to be able to trailer the machine occasionally with a half-ton pickup. My dream setup is a Ram Ecodiesel with a dump trailer I can haul the tractor with. I'll need to play the lottery more often to achieve this, but its good to have vision just in case. I have a single axle trailer and half-ton pickup now. Food for thought, one of the local Kubota dealers is also a PJ trailer dealer...

Must Haves:
- SSQA loader & pallet forks
- HST (Want the wife and kid(s) to be comfortable on it)