Ford 601 Overheating

/ Ford 601 Overheating #1  

swampdog

Tractor
Ford 601 Workmaster
I have a Ford 601 Workmaster and every time use the Tractor for 11/2 to 2 hrs the Engine will overheat. I can watch the Temperature Guage slowly rise as I am working until it overheats. Any suggestions?

/ Ford 601 Overheating #2  
I assume you have done the easy things first...
Is the cooling system full of radiator fluid?
Is the radiator screen(s) clean?
Is the radiator itself clean? Blow it out if not.

If all that's ok, check the belt(s) for the waterpump and the fan, make sure they're not slipping.
Can you confirm the waterpump is actually pumping the proper amount of fluid? Sometimes they can break off a couple of vanes and lose some pumping volume.

If those are ok then.....
Flow test the radiator?? Make sure it's not clogged up internally.
Checked the thermostat already? You can put it in a pot with a temperature probe for cooking, heat the water up to boiling, and watch to see if it opens, and at what temperature. Compare that to what the service manual says it should be.

If all that checks out, then it might be clogged or collapsed hose? Or, could be a clogged up port in the water jacket inside the block?

There's some other things that can cause it to overheat such as timing set wrong (at least on a gas engine). I think the 601 is diesel though??

Hopefully one of those easier fixes will get it corrected. Good luck!

/ Ford 601 Overheating #3  
There's not much to add to Kebo's answer, but I would add that if you have a shrouded radiator, it is sometimes hard to clean out to the outer edges of the core and dirt gets trapped there. If you don't have a shroud, you probably should. Sometimes they get bent into the fan and people take them out. That's a big mistake.