Forklift Train the Trainer certification?

/ Forklift Train the Trainer certification? #1  

Maintenance Mech

Tractor
Kubota L48
I am currently employed by a small agricultural business, and have been asked to be an in house forklift trainer. I have plenty of operating experience with all the types of equipment we have here, and have been certified elsewhere, but have never done training. After doing some research, I found several local dealerships that do a "train the trainer" class for $1400. The owner feels this cost is excessive, and is looking for other options (yes, I know this is cheap compared to an osha fine, but still asked to find other options). I came across some online "train the trainer" classes, but was wondering if anyone else has ever used something like that, and has any opinions based on your experience.

Btw, osha has this to say about trainers:
All operator training and evaluation shall be conducted by
persons who have the knowledge, training, and experience
to train powered industrial truck operators and evaluate
their competence.

Here are a couple examples of what I am talking about.

Cost for trainer is $149

Cost is $149

Cost is $299

So, in your experience, are there any online train the trainer courses that are worth while, or are they a waste of money?

/ Forklift Train the Trainer certification? #2  
Hitachi sent me to a class given by the forklift dealership.
Dont know the cost or if they had people in house or they farmed it out to do the training.
I wrote our training programs for our forklifts and other equipment.
Lots of help and materials online.
I would go with whatever online course would meet the qualifications to certify you.

/ Forklift Train the Trainer certification?
Thanks for the reply Alan. That might be what it comes down to. Has anyone used one of the online trainings?

/ Forklift Train the Trainer certification? #4  
I hope your class is more informative than the one I went to.