freeze dried long term and food

/ freeze dried long term and food #1  

blackstormy1804

Tractor
models
I have NO experience with that company but maybe someone here will explain some of the things I don't understand:

Last night I watched another episode of Doomsday Preppers. I've seen 3 shows. Most people profiled seem to be "a little out there", according to DW and I don't disagree.

Last night's episode showed three rooms stockpiled with enough food to feed "10 people for 4 years". An earlier episode had a segment discussing a young lady in Houston with years worth of food stockpiled, and plans to backpack to Mexico "when the s*** hit the fan". Still another episode described a "prepper" with 3 years worth of food and supplies stockpiled, and a couple of old school busses and 2 pickups at the ready to take some of those supplies to an undisclosed location where "they would be safe".

For the decade DW and I were driving truck cross-country, we carried a large box of freeze-dried food and a small propane stove and utensils, just in case we were stuck in a blizzard for a few days somewhere. We never needed it.

We do live off-grid with our own water and power, and I also have 25lbs each of rice and beans stockpiled. With our normal stores, we could last a few months without finding groceries.

But FOUR YEARS?!?!? Am I under prepared? Or are the people in this show over prepared? If there is no food, no fuel, and no electricity ... will having that large of a supply help your family to survive or just make you a target for those that are starving?

I apologize if this post doesn't address your question but these seem to be scary times, and I keep wondering if I should be investing more in long-term/freeze dried foods? And the answers to your question will be relevent to my question.

/ freeze dried long term and food #2  
I have NO experience with that company but maybe someone here will explain