Good "Tractor Boots"?

/ Good "Tractor Boots"? #1  

Anonymous Poster

Good \"Tractor Boots\"?

Howdy,

I'll admit, I'm new to the tractor scene. I was wondering if anybody has suggestions for the best "tractor boots." I saw a pair of "Cat" (Caterpillar) boots at WalMart. They look rugged, but wasn't sure if that is what will work good for me. I am in NC. Anybody have boots they "swear by"? Are steel toes they necessary. Rubber treads? Etc. Expert testimony welcomed.

Jackson

/ Good "Tractor Boots"? #2  
Re: Good \"Tractor Boots\"?

I finally had to pitch my favorite boots last month. Bought them in 1973 at the Rocky Boot outlet for 39.95. Ankle height, with square steel toes and a Vibram sole with very shallow tread so they didn't hold mud. A little heavy for serious hiking, but they made a lot of day trips all over the country. Lots of motorcycle riding, too. Perfect for the annual Labor Day pig roast, when we would stay up tending the fire til dawn (dew makes things a bit damp then). They were also my lawn mowing and "tractor" boots. Finally wore out the leather where it was sewed to the sole (which still had tread on it).

I started shopping for new boots last fall and finally ended up with some similar Wolverines. The tread is deeper than I like and I'm not sure how well the stamped speed lace hooks will hold up. $69.95 I was afraid to look at the higher end boots for fear what I would do to my checkbook. I need to replace my regular work boots real soon and I know my last Red Wings ran over $180.
The Caterpillar boots look pretty sturdy and I think they were reasonably priced. I just did not care for that bright yellow name tag. I would definitely get the steel toes and steel shanks. I feel you should have at least one pair for doing heavy work, or simply any place there are heavy items in the air.

/ Good "Tractor Boots"? #3