Gravel road

/ Gravel road #1  

jspool

Tractor
Kubota BX25
I have a recreational property that I want to put in a circular road for my 40' motorhome. I have never done this before, and am wondering whether my BX25 is up to the task, or do I need to get it proffesionally done to make sure it is fully compacted. Don't want the big rig to sink in! If I were to get the gravel spread out, and run a thumper over it, would that do the job?
Any advise appreciated.
Jonathan

/ Gravel road #2  
Jonathan...
Welcome to TBN.
Fill in your information to show approximately where you are located.
The road youare going to build will vary according to the type of soil you have... How well it drains, if it has a lot of clay?
What ever you do make your circle much larger than the minimum turning radius of your 40' motor home. KennyV

/ Gravel road #3  
I have a recreational property that I want to put in a circular road for my 40' motorhome. I have never done this before, and am wondering whether my BX25 is up to the task, or do I need to get it proffesionally done to make sure it is fully compacted. Don't want the big rig to sink in! If I were to get the gravel spread out, and run a thumper over it, would that do the job?
Any advise appreciated.
Jonathan

For our home here in Ohio, We had a contractor build our driveway (about 1/4 mile long). First, all of the sod and topsoil was removed with a bull dozer then many dump truck loads of shale were spread, then limestone gravel (34's then 57's. It was more involved than I thought (to do it right). The way I understand it, you can't just spread gravel over your existing sod and dirt and expect to have a good solid based driveway. Jim

/ Gravel road #4  
Some of my questions would be,...
Is this a regular motorhome or something else.
How much does it weigh.
How many tires are on the ground.
And here's why,...

My motorcoach is a marathon bus conversion and it has a much larger turning radius than a "motorhome".