Hello.. newbie here. with a basic question

/ Hello.. newbie here. with a basic question #1  

platinumaa

hello all... nice to join a like minded community, i am not much of a tractor guy, but since recently purchasing a little bit of land im in need of a tractor.

In about 2 weeks i am purchasing an r4041 w/ loader.. my question is on the tires.. i am mostly going to be in grassy, sometimes wet, little mud terrain maybe... there are 3 different types of tires they offer.. turf, industrial, or agricultural.. what tire do yall recommend?

i appreciate the help

/ Hello.. newbie here. with a basic question #2  
Although I have turfs on my Kubota, I will tell you that by numbers I believe the most common is the industrial. Folks see them as a good compromise between the "easy on the lawn" turfs, and the aggressive ags. Having said that, it really does depend on the main uses you intend for your tractor.​

/ Hello.. newbie here. with a basic question #3  
I've had industrials on both my machines (here on the wet Pacific Slope). They are great for not tearing things up too badly... until you lose traction. As long as whatever tread you have is pulling, you won't tear up the ground too much. Once it is too wet or muddy to keep going, and you are running in place or drifting offline, you'll be making a mess of things, whatever tread you have.

For me, I get by most of the time by being very careful to stay away from the places I know might be too wet to hold on. If I think I am getting too close to trouble, I look for the best way out of it, and will use the locking differential, or a downhill escape, if it's available. The ags will keep you moving when the indies will slip, but they are going to make their marks when the indies would not have. If I wasn't on such hilly ground, I might think of having turfs. But turfs would keep me in the shed most of the time around here.

Sliding sideways is the worst. That's when you become just a passenger.

Last edited: