Help! going nuts with conflicting advice!!

/ Help! going nuts with conflicting advice!! #1  
Tractor
MF 596 FEL
Hi,
I'm new to farmiing-- lets get that out of the way!
But I seem to be getting more conflicting advice than I know what to do with!

I'm trying to get a 40 acre field of goldenrod and other weeds (some timothy and clover but not much) back into hay. I just bought the land and my tractor MF 596, and a 7 foot brushhog and just finished mowing down the weeds to about 10 inches. Found only one rock with my FEL in the entire field of weeds. I want to plow and disc it and use glycosolate to kill off the goldenrod and other weeds. I just went to a big tractor dealer locally who deals in new and used equipment, and he told me he has no 4 bottom plows used for sale--- and they are hard to come by. He also told me a 14 foot disc would cost me about 15 grand new!! (sticker shock for me-- or call it ignorance of implement prices). Anyways, I look on Tractorhouse.com and I see a John Deere 105 10 foot ofset disc with discs in the front and looks like circular tines in the rear on a second axel for $3495. It's down south so lets say it costs $500 t ship to me--
Bottom line: is it unreasonable to expect to find a used 10 foot disker for this price-- when the new one the dealer is showing me is 15 grand!!
What am I missing?:confused:

/ Help! going nuts with conflicting advice!! #2  
A quick search of craigslist shows 2 10ft discs within 60 miles of my house. 1 for $200 (needs some repair) and the other for $600.00 good shape.

I have seen a few withing 10 miles of me, over the past 2 years, but I don't pay any attention as they are too big for my needs.

10ft IH disc

/ Help! going nuts with conflicting advice!! #3  
You can do better on that price and shop for a good used one ... keep looking, be patient and you will find what you need.

/ Help! going nuts with conflicting advice!! #4  
Hi,