How heavy should a tractor be?

/ How heavy should a tractor be? #1  

Indian Territory

Bronze Member
Tractor
New Holland PowerStar 75
I’m a hobby farmer. Flatland. Old school organic kinda deal. Possibly haying in the future. But mostly vegetable crops. Deep plowing. Tilling. Bed shaping. Seeding. No high hp commodity crops like corn or soybeans. I’m preparing to trade my NH Boomer 24, which is far too light to be useful. I’ve had a 75hp NH in the past at about 5,000 pounds, which felt pretty planted to the ground. The NH Powerstar 75 I’m currently considering weighs in at about 6,000 pounds. But the Massey Ferguson 4700’s are closing in on 9,000 pounds. Is 9,000 pounds going to translate to better performance in a mostly light-duty application like mine? Thanks for the advice!

Last edited:
   / How heavy should a tractor be? #2  
Is 9,000 pounds going to translate to better performance in a mostly light-duty application like mine?

You will be able to pull wider implements, deeper through the ground.
Is this your goal? What general width implements work well for you?

How many acres of veggies do you grow?

How deep is "deep plowing" where you farm? How often do you deep plow?

What limits did you find with the 5,000 pound New Holland?

Last edited:
   / How heavy should a tractor be?
We are currently at only 1 acre, but will be expanding to 10 acres in the future (or as large as the produce/flower markets will bear). The farm itself is 20 acres.

Last edited:
   / How heavy should a tractor be? #4  
We are currently at only 1 acre, but will be expanding to 10 acres in the future (or as large as the produce/flower markets will bear). The farm itself is 20 acres.

For one acre consider a Keulavator.

For ten to twenty acres of vegetables few here will dispute a recommendation for a tractor of ~4,000 to ~5,000 pounds bare tractor weight.