How many hours is too many hours?

/ How many hours is too many hours? #1  

Elkins45

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L3800
Please excuse me because I'm a complete noob when it comes to tractors. I'm going this afternoon to look at an International 444 that has 4200 hours on it. I did a little calculating trying to relate that to car miles and figured that an average of 60MPH that would be the auto equivalent of a car with 250,000 miles on it. That sounds pretty worn out to me, but what do I know?

At what point is a tractor considered 'worn out'?

/ How many hours is too many hours? #2  
Your comparison seems fairly accurate, but as with cars, there are those with a quarter million miles you might take a chance on buying, and others you wouldn't touch. Same thing here. Would you buy a late 60's - early 70's car to be your everyday driver?

The question to ask yourself is how much money would you really give for such a machine? Would you rather put that money, and the money it is going to take in repairs, toward something newer? Are you getting for it free? What about the time and skill it is going to take keeping such a machine useful to you?

Do you have the money, time and knowledge, shop and tools necessary? Do you have access to the parts?

All these are questions you will have to sort through in the decision making process.

/ How many hours is too many hours? #3  
To me what matters most is how they were taken care of, more so than the hours. Also, one of the worst things for any type of equipment is for it to sit around unused. This causes seals to dry up and crack, corrosion on internal components, fuel systems fouling up, hoses, belts and tires to dry rot, etc (this also partially has to do with age.) I personally would rather take a higher hour tractor that gets used often but is well taken care of than a 20yr old tractor with 500hrs on it.