How to put brake rod seals into the axle housing on Ford 4000

/ How to put brake rod seals into the axle housing on Ford 4000 #1  

bazza69

Tractor
Ford 4000 1966
Hi,im a newbie to the forum and having a hard time trying to make the brake rod seal stay inside the housing. I have disconected the brake pedal rod and tried everything i can to push it into the axle housing. I have destroyed six of them so far. People on other forums say, " and to put them back in, do in reverse as taking them out". No- one wants to say that they are an absolute bastard to get in. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Ive tried using the same size diam socket and atube to go over the rod and tapping with a hammer. And using spacers to wind the nut up. Used oil and grease, still no good.

/ How to put brake rod seals into the axle housing on Ford 4000 #2  
Not really sure why you should be having issues with installing in the seal. It should be a simple interference fit. Using a socket or pipe as a driver is the same thing I would do to get even pressure installing the seal.

I would suggest, cleaning the surface really well making sure there is no oil or grease contamination then using a thin coat of #2 Permatex install the seal and let it cure for a few days.

/ How to put brake rod seals into the axle housing on Ford 4000 #3  
Hi,im a newbie to the forum and having a hard time trying to make the brake rod seal stay inside the housing. I have disconected the brake pedal rod and tried everything i can to push it into the axle housing. I have destroyed six of them so far. People on other forums say, " and to put them back in, do in reverse as taking them out". No- one wants to say that they are an absolute bastard to get in. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Ive tried using the same size diam socket and atube to go over the rod and tapping with a hammer. And using spacers to wind the nut up. Used oil and grease, still no good.