I want to re-route my exhaust

/ I want to re-route my exhaust #1  

Westonium

Silver Member
Tractor
JD 4310
I have a JD 4310 and the stock exhaust points down left from the front. Doing a lot of FEL work leaves me thinking that I am inhaling way more diesel fumes than is healthy or necessary.

I know I can buy a kit to make a vertical stack, but I want to weigh the options of DIY. With DIY I can put that exhaust anywhere I like (pretty much). I am pretty new to tractors, but "I ain't a skeert of no tractor".

Why on earth did someone in engineering go "lessee now - point the hot exhaust down at the ground...CHECK. Hey guys I got it so we can increase fire risk AND let the operator drive through fumes!"

Wouldn't the exhaust gases be better off extending behind the ROPS, almost as high as the ROPS but pointing backwards? It's just a thought.

Looking for ideas, advice etc. Outside the box is good. Frankly I could hardly sleep last night wondering how easy it would be to run a tube around the exhaust that fresh air pumps through and into the operator area (I mean hey - its free wasted heat).

/ I want to re-route my exhaust #2  
I don't think it would be that hard to make an exhaust pipe that would extend to rear of tractor or through a cab.
Check out muffler shops that have custom tube bending equipment. If you cannot find a muffler shop try a hotrod custom builder.

/ I want to re-route my exhaust #3  
I have a 4300 and would be interested to see what you come up with. You would have to route the pipe under the operator platform and not too close so that it would not heat you or anything else it comes close to up too much. I will watch this thread. Please keep us informed.

/ I want to re-route my exhaust #4  
My old IH444 had an underslung exhaust system that came out the rear pointed at the ground. Not a problem for most operations but it made it impossible to use a PTO chipper/shredder. Also if you were stopped you ended up in a cloud of exhaust.