I'm stumped..

/ I'm stumped.. #1  

Jibber

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L3130HST 4WD, BX2350
I\'m stumped..

Just added a BH-90 Backhoe to the L3130 Kubota, and am ready to start attacking various rocks and stumps as I expand my yard into the neighboring woods in all directions.

I've been reading some horror stories here in the forums from those who have dared to remove stumps, especially maple stumps from their property..

My question.. Is there any advice on how to remove stumps. I've never done it with a backhoe so I'd love to hear any tips or techniques for making the job easier. I've been told to just dig all around the stump and there you go.. others say dig as far out as you can to clip the roots away from trunk as far as possible.

I would like to minimize time and effort, but maximize results.. I know that's not an easy formula for success.

Thanks for any help.

/ I'm stumped.. #2  
Re: I\'m stumped..

Jibber,

I am not an expert by any means...but have dug out a couple stumps.

After you get all the advice you need...you will then have to dig your stumps.

My guess is that you will soon learn what works best for you, your machine and your backhoe.

Different trees are easier or harder. My guess is that even the same species can be easier or harder depending on how the tree grew to begin with.

I have found that only the smallest of stumps can be pulled over and out with my smaller backhoe...but even the BH90 is not THAT big when it comes to stumps.

Get all the advice you can...then go on out and have fun and use that advice! Wish I could do more...but seems to me that nothing teaches more than just doing it... /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ I'm stumped.. #3  

I would think that digging radially from the trunk out would be the way to do it. That's the way you'd do it if you were digging by hand. You might have to cut the roots manually regardless of the method of digging.

/ I'm stumped.. #4