Injector Pump Failure?

/ Injector Pump Failure? #1  

dkarten

I have a 1960 Massey Ferguson 65, I have owned it for 16 years & have experience with bleeding the injector lines, I went to start it a few days ago & have been unable to, I have fuel coming from the 2 bleeder screws on the injector pump, strong stream of fuel with no apparent air, but cannot get fuel at the injectors, I have had intermittent smoke out the exhaust on cranking, but now have none, I suspect the IP has failed & have found a rebuilt unit for $660, before I R&R I would like to ascertain it is the IP, any advice?

/ Injector Pump Failure? #2  
Do you have a diesel specialty shop in your area? If you do have them check the pump and the injectors.
You may have ran something that plugged/fouled all of them.

I would start and run it on WD40 spray into the intake manifold.
This will give you enough engine/pump speed to get a better idea as to how the fuel system is working. KennyV

/ Injector Pump Failure? #3  
If the $700 almost, doesn't bother you then go for it. I had an early 4cylinder Ford 4000 that I wanted to get the pump looked and repair what was needed, the estimate was $800. The tractor still ran and I just couldn't afford that amount, so I sold the tractor and told the fellow that the pump may need service, I took kind of beating on price, but that's life I suppose. I'm hoping you'll find a diesel mechanic that could come over and take a look see. In my case I'm probaby better off not having something else around to dump money into, I remenise too much. bjr

/ Injector Pump Failure? #4