is the L2800 right for my needs?

/ is the L2800 right for my needs? #1  

Diesel_Boy

Silver Member
hi. i'm new to TBN, but like all the great info and ideas. thinking about purchasing a tractor next spring and been doing a little research on the specs. i'm leaning toward an L2800, possibly gear driven, with an FEL. i plan on eventually rototilling several small gardens, FEL work to move a little dirt around but mostly to move around 4 foot logs, and to do stationary work such as powering a wood spitter and cordwood saw. i also want to move around 4' x 4' pallets of firewood with pallet forks attached to the front of the FEL. was wondering if the L2800 would be a good choice, with enough lifting power for the pallets of firewood, and also whether gear driven instead of hydro is advisable. i understand the hydro is a great time saver, but will really be puttering around on the weekends for a few hours here and there. i also appreciate the gain of HP on the PTO over the hydro. thanks for any help and input.

/ is the L2800 right for my needs? #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( and also whether gear driven instead of hydro is advisable. i understand the hydro is a great time saver, but will really be puttering around on the weekends for a few hours here and there. i also appreciate the gain of HP on the PTO over the hydro. )</font>
We bought a B2910 HST (Hydro) about a year and a half ago. Eventually the primary use will be mowing but right now (and for the past year and a half) I've been doing alot of loader work - I personally would not want to own a gear tractor for doing loader work - the ability to immediately change direction and vary speed is just way too handy. FWIW.

/ is the L2800 right for my needs? #3