JCB 1400B no steering

/ JCB 1400B no steering #1  

ShaneWY

Tractor
JCB 1400B Sitemaster
I have a JCB 1400B sitemaster. The other day I lost the steering and now the steering wheel just freewheels around and around. I pulled the steering valve. The end of the steering shaft that engages the valve looks to be in good shape. I expected splines to be stripped or a woodruff key to be sheared or something like that. On the valve, there is only about a quarter inch that the steering shaft can go into, which seems odd. I would normally have thought that the steering shaft broke off in the valve, but the shaft looks good, as I stated. In the hole where the shaft goes, everything looks smooth like it is supposed to be that way. I just can't imagine there only being a quarter inch of hole for the shaft to engage with.

Thoughts? Anyone have a picture of a steering valve?

Shane

/ JCB 1400B no steering #2  
I know nothing about this machine but before you pulled the valve, could you turn the wheel and visually see that the shaft end was engaged and turning the control valve? That is generally hard to do with the way a lot of steering shafts bolt to the valve body but some valves have just enough lip extended above the valve body that you can see the shaft end turn the valve.

I am wondering if the shaft is pinned or otherwise 2 pieces and the steering wheel is spinning but the shaft end/ control valve are not. 1/4" engagement sounds shallow but my Deere valve is basically the same.....looks like about 1/4-3/8" of the steering shaft is all that engages the splines on the valve itself. Can you hold the end of the shaft with vice grips etc. and confirm the end of the shaft is solidly connected to the steering wheel?