JD 950 engine rebuild

/ JD 950 engine rebuild #1  

83regalsx

Tractor
JD950
Hi everyone.
I recently purchased a ‘86 950 with a 3t90j. I’m a mechanic by trade and I got it for a song knowing it had some problems and a lot of hours (3200 hours). The head is cracked and while it’s off I’m taking the opportunity to put pistons and liners in it. I have a rebuild kit from weavers coming and I have a few questions.

What have others used on their liners seals? I see a few others here have done 3t90 overhauls. the factory liners definitely had some type of sealer around the top o-ring but everything I have read just says to lube them.

Thanks in advance for any input. I will post a few pictures where I’m at so far.

Last edited:
   / JD 950 engine rebuild
7ACDD4EF-873A-4E28-9133-019A4EF8AE7E.jpeg

/ JD 950 engine rebuild
3023FCD9-02ED-484B-B8E8-EBF60102B441.jpeg
8DAA5CE4-F4C4-4A4C-A799-EF42A21DEEBD.jpeg
4A3D74B4-CE8E-4B1F-881E-CBE951B70413.jpeg

Attachments

• 63158792-669C-41A1-869C-D6F190BC9CBE.jpeg
    63158792-669C-41A1-869C-D6F190BC9CBE.jpeg
    2 MB · Views: 91
   / JD 950 engine rebuild #4  
The overhaul manual calls for a JD lubricant on the o rings. It’s some slimy stuff. I can’t get to my bottle currently as I have everything covered for a project I’m painting. You going to repair the cracks or replace the head?

Also, the JD rings were far superior to any aftermarket options I found. The markings on the rings were an exact match for those removed. I didn’t think much of the aftermarket head gaskets either so went with Deere. Much better looking gasket although a bit more pricey.

Edit: There is no sealer on the o-rings, just a lubricant.

Last edited:
   / JD 950 engine rebuild #5  
SNIP

Thanks in advance for any input. I will post a few pictures where I’m at so far.

Re the liners. Yanmar used to recommend that the liners be put in with lube and no sealer. I'll have to go do some digging to if I have any notes on installing liners.