JD2320 vs. B2320

/ JD2320 vs. B2320 #1  

jtadelbe

I'm new to this and looking to purchase a nice CUT. I have about 3 rolling acres to mow with various landscaping, and snow plowing. I've got my choices down to a John Deere 2320 and Kubota 2320. I plan on starting out with a FEL and 60" MMM and maybe a front blade for snow removal if the loader is too much of a pain. What are the differences between the two that would help me decide.

/ JD2320 vs. B2320 #2  
They look to have about the same horsepower (JD has one more), but the B2320 seems to be available in either a gear or hydro transmission, whereas the JD only has the hydro. Also, the Kubota has a three range transmission whereas the JD only has two. Not sure how the JD2320 guys feel, but on my 2520, I think a three-range transmission would be a nice feature to have.

/ JD2320 vs. B2320 #3  
I recently traded a NH scut w/ 2 ranges in for a Kubota 2620. The B2320 is the same size (frame wise) as the 2620 I have so for the size aspect I can relate. The 2620 has more FEL and 3pt capabilites + the 3 horse more. Not sure about the Deere but as jtadelbe stated the 3 ranges of speed is very nice. As mentioned having using both 2 range tractors and 3 range I would never go back to a 2 range tractor again. On the 2 range you have choices of hi, low. With three you obviusly get the med and as many others will tell you the med. is the one that is used the most, it seems to be the perfect speed for most applications. I would recomend the hst over the gear tractor if you plan on doing a lot of FEL work, grading etc... Good Luck

/ JD2320 vs. B2320 #4  
I've got the JD2305 (same engine as the JD2320) with "only" 2 ranges and I've never really seen is as a limiting factor. Pretty simple - mowing it goes in high and for loader work it goes in low. Deep snow it goes in low. Pretty much anytime I put it in 4wd it goes in low.