John deere 850 fuel pump - no output

/ John deere 850 fuel pump - no output #1  

Chuck_L

Tractor
John Deere 850
Good Day. Well I just joined up here. Having a problem with tractor I inherited dad; I hope I'm asking the question in the correct place. If not, please let me know.

Ok, the Tractor is a John Deere 850, late '80's. It has been running fine until few days ago when it started, ran for 20 sec, then died.

The fuel flows freely to the pump. But the pump itself just "spits" a little out of the three ports. The throttle linkage is fine. I removed the pump, did a little online research. I then dissasembled the pump. There is nothing in this mechanism that seems overly worn or suspect to the eye.

I am not experienced with diesel systems, but I am experienced with machinery in general. I am really quite flumoxed as to why this thing is not pumping out fuel. The pistons move freely. The check valves are pristine. The parts that make up the flow regulating mechanisms are, again, pristine. These three pistons are driven by cam lobes which are certainly still in the tractor and certainly still turning.

I don't see anything mechanically that says it shouldn't work. But it just stares at me, not working. So it's obviouly smarter than me.

Thanks in advance for any insight

Chuck

/ John deere 850 fuel pump - no output #2  
Welcome to TBN
What "pump" are you talking about? The injection pump, or a different one?
Put up a pic or two and good help/advice should come your way.

/ John deere 850 fuel pump - no output
Thanks Beenthere, I'm uploading a couple of pics.
It is the fuel injection pump.

Attachments

• Injection Pump 1.jpg
    Injection Pump 1.jpg
    389.1 KB · Views: 34
  • Injection pump 2.jpg
    Injection pump 2.jpg
    388.7 KB · Views: 43
   / John deere 850 fuel pump - no output #4